Excessive traffic has made cities unpleasant places to live and work in. For this reason, private cars should be completely banned from city centers. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing interest in traffic congestion in cities. Many people say that this challenge has made cities inconvenient to live in and work, hence private vehicles should be entirely banned from city centres. I support this proposal and will delineate my reasons in this essay, supported with relevant examples. Firstly, one reason I believe the use of personal cars should be prohibited in central areas is to combat the environmental impact. By this, I mean the frequent and increased use of automobiles contributes immensely to carbon footprints. These greenhouse gas emissions lead to global warming, resulting in the current issue of climate change. With the increased influx of people into urban areas, there is a surge in road usage. If a ban is not placed, this ecological catastrophe might not be curbed effectively. For example, in London, there is a congestion charge on trips to central places during peak times, between 7:00 am and 7:30 pm. This has suppressed traffic challenges in that area, and people can opt for energy-efficient alternatives like trains. Secondly, most workplaces and behemoths are in the central area, and congestion causes an increased commuting time. That is, when the road is jam-packed in the morning due to a substantial number of residents driving to work, there might be a significant restriction, leading to a late arrival. This is a challenge in most cities across the globe as it can affect productivity, resulting in an economic downturn. For instance, a survey in Lagos, a city in my country Nigeria, showed that approximately three-quarters of the population commute via private automobile. The repercussion of this practice is constant lateness by employees due to "terrible Lagos traffic", as popularly known, affecting the overall local economy. In conclusion, with the rise in road congestion, I believe a strict restriction on personal vehicles in main areas will effectively alleviate this problem because the environmental and economic impact would be well-controlled.