Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

Plastic usage are increasing over the years. Although plastic -related products like bags, bottles and packaging are an essential part of our life, the waste associated with those is hazardous to the environment. Plastic waste damages the ecosystem in different ways, however suitable action from the individuals and system can reduce the problems to some extent. In the upcoming paragraphs, I shall discuss the land-filling and incineration issues and some actions citizens and public bodies can work over it to resolve the same. Firstly, the increase of used polymer products creates an issue of space constraints. An increasing number of waste material is problematic for landfilling, since it is not non-biodegradable. This amass quantity pollutes the land, soil and water. Implementation and use of biodegradable products are one of the solutions to the problem. Authorities should promote the making of different products using easily degradable polymers by offering incentives or generating a policy to enhance its production. Secondly,improper burning of plastic can cause the generation of dangerous gases, which is life-threatening to animals. if plastic incineration in open conditions can create poisonous gas including CO and other hazardous chemicals. For that reason, the air gets polluted and can attribute several diseases such as asthma, cancer etc. This problem can be solved by the government by giving proper guidance to individuals and facilitating recycling centres or controlled pyrolysis units in each town. Hence, waste can convert into wealth for the people. In conclusion, excess plastic waste adversely affects the ecosystem and surroundings due to its non-degradable nature and toxic content. But, governments and individuals can convert these challenges into opportunities by incorporating proper recycling methods and by promoting the use of easily digestible materials.