Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Language is a mirror of society and reflects their culture and mentality; with rapidly accelerating technological development and shifts in lifestyle in the last decades, new representations of language - with reduced formality and more freedom of speech - have emerged to suit the new digital society. This evolution is obligatory, whether it comes with benefits or drawbacks. As social context and language are intertwined, changes in one lead to transformations in the other and vice versa. In the modern setting, technology allows the whole society to revamp constantly, and new concepts, beliefs, fallacies, and norms are born daily, intentionally or unintentionally, infesting the minds of modern citizens, especially youngsters, and colossally transforming their mindsets. Language, to serve its fundamental function, is also required to adapt gradually to conceptualise and deliver those new thoughts. This adaptation, combined with the new cultures' flexibility, openness, and diversity, set young people free from conventional constraints to develop new phrases and acronyms to express their thoughts, freedom, and themselves. This development can be defined as 'advantageous' as it follows the rules of nature. Language is the medium for a population to communicate and better thrive in a specific environment effectively, and when the environment changes, the language evolves. Hence, it is justifiable to cite that this transformation occurs as an evolutionary adaptation - a part of natural selection that physical traits that make a population more likely to survive in its environment. A less formal style, both written and spoken, is born as a response to the ever-increasing pace of life. While the formality is more structural, appropriate, and oratory in certain settings, less formal expression has its advantages of speed, flexibility, convenience, and readability - all of which are vital when schedules are hectic, allowing people to be more productive and synchronise with their surroundings. In conclusion, the emergence of less formal language is how humanity imperatively responds to changes in an evolving nature, sacrificing certain aspects in exchange for the benefits of convenience, openness, and flexibility.