It is too expensive to look after and repair old building. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Is reconstructing old buildings really worth spending a dozen amounts of money while it is possible to build modern buildings from scratch? The argument for repairing those buildings is one I am a vehement supporter of. A number of my arguments are as follows. The most significant advantage of restoring ancient buildings is saving nations’ legacy. This is because buildings tell us more about the period they were built in. For example, castles from the Victorian era are so recognizable due to their fancy furniture, golden kitchen gadgets and their huge gates. As a result, conserving those buildings will give cities more appealing views, may attract more tourists to the city and most importantly, will probably raise the upcoming generations' awareness about their past heritage. Secondly, not only does maintaining ancient buildings have aesthetic benefits but indeed what most people do not realize is that these buildings are practical. To clarify, older buildings are much more sustainable regarding heating and cooling. Due to their autonomous control over the indoor air flow using several techniques such as wider windows and indoor fountains, all over the world, ancient civilizations have thrived without air conditioning or heating systems for millenniums. For instance, in old Cairo ancient mosques that date back to the Arabian occupation era have recorded cooler temperatures in the summer. therefore, In the long run, conserving these buildings will save us the enormous amount of funds allocated for power to heat or cool buildings. To sum up, yes I believe that spending money to maintain buildings that date back to older times is worth it because it will probably save us money and will encourage younger generations to read more about their history.