As part of education, students should spend a period of time studying and living in a different country to learn a different language and culture. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Most people argue that studying abroad is necessary and beneficial for students. However, in my view, it’s unnecessary to study in a foreign country just for learning a different language and experience. This essay attempts to evaluate the public argument and explain why it is unnecessary to do so. Students would benefit from studying abroad. By exposing to the community, students have more opportunities to learn the language and the civilization. They could distinguish the cultural differences from the public’s words and actions. Every interaction would be vivid knowledge. It will broaden their sight and collect new information for students. By speaking with a native speaker, they might improve their pronunciation and have a deeper understanding of the words. therefore, they could speak the foreign language more fluently than before. Besides, living in a foreign country alone helps them be more self-disciplined. Students are trained to schedule their lives and take good care of selves by their lives. This is a useful skill for the rest of their lives. Without parents' interruption, they are exposed to society and take their own decision when facing choices. Necessary capacities are built up during the process. On the opposite, it's unnecessary for students to live abroad just simply for acquiring knowledge about civilization. Living abroad is expensive in some situations due to the exchange rates and inflation. If a low-income family in Africa support a child to study in the US, they might be bankrupt because the average fees of a transfer programme for two weeks are higher than two thousand dollars. The result would be that they have no access to basic livelihoods. Alternatively, the cost of travelling can be devoted to employing a professional teacher to teach the child. A teacher who can speak one particular language fluently and is familiar with the culture could be more helpful and easy for students to communicate with. Secondly, if the exchange only lasts for a couple of days, the students will not experience much but just view local historic sites. They do not dive into the community, in other words, the teenagers do not have much experience. Learning a language and adapting to new culture from the beginning need a long term. A conclusion that could be drawn is that the short-term exchange means nothing but creates costs. In addition, if students do not adapt to a new culture and feel a sense of hostility from residents, they might have trauma and cause a series of mental diseases. The situation is called ethnic discrimination which is quite common over the world. To be more specific, in the US, an extreme example is that a black citizen was accused of what he hasn't done and suffocated because of inappropriate violent law enforcement. The experience might have the opposite impact on students which shifts their strong desire and destroy their mental health. To sum up, although students could benefit from studying abroad, the cost of studying abroad is much higher than the benefits. It’s unnecessary for students to study abroad for improving languages and learning cultures. Alternatively, students could make good use of social media in which they could communicate with people from other cultures. Technologies are so advanced now that they could fix distance problems.