Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think thau5t they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people believe that it is a human right for someone to behave as a free individual. Others argue that it is more appropriate for young people to behave as what lies in the traditions. I agree that it is better for people to care more about the folklore of their society. On one hand, traditions are something that create by the older generation based on the situation in that specific time period. However, as time changes, the surrounding also changes the conditions where it is may not suitable anymore to follow what heritage told us. For example, Javanese marriage habit have a lot of process and effort to work on from pre-marriage, marriage day, and post-marriage traditions. Unfortunately, some people may not have enough money to provide for all the Javanese cultures. Moreover, in some cases, there are cultures which not suitable for our religious beliefs. This may the main reason why people do not continue to do the same things as their existing traditions. On the other hand, traditions are unwritten rules which usually have good meanings for everyone. It is the responsibility of the younger generation to continue the folklore. Because culture is one thing that makes a place unique. Therefore, young people still need to acknowledge themselves to follow what traditions said when they have the ability to do so. Another reason, many young people misleading to use open-minded terms as an excuse to avoid culture. This will cause conflict in society. To illustrate, Qatar prohibited the LGBT campaign because this is something that is opposite to their beliefs, while football players who are pro to LGBT said that this is an act of not being open-minded to others. Nevertheless, open-minded is refer to respecting others and when a minority take place in where it has a different belief system, they need to respect that. In conclusion, there are some pros and contras to following what cultures are said to do. For me, I think it is our responsibility to keep the traditions as long as it is suited to our beliefs and we also have the ability to follow them.