Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Most children and teenagers use mobile phones for long hours daily. In my opinion, this builds a negative impact on children's mental health due to the high volume of data overlooked in a short period of time when children scroll on social media platforms which are intelligent enough to provide continuous feeds. Firstly, with emerging technologies used by social media platforms, they are able to filter and provide data relevant to children's interests in their search history. Children are not aware of this trap and they unintentionally surf through the content one by one and clearly this leads children to stay hours without knowing the time they spent. Furthermore, unlike in the past, more than 75% of teenagers have their own mobile phones and they do not have the capability to understand the risk and their self-control on over usage which can be emphasised as the main reason for them to spend longer time with their phones. On the other hand, a large volume of information coming in a short duration has a considerable impact on brain functionality and this will direct problems in children's mental health. The Human brain is designed to analyse information in a rhythmic way and if a high volume of data feeding to your memory within a shorter duration, there will be a huge impact on children's analytical and memorizing capabilities. In addition to this, children might addicted to watching irrelevant content on the internet which are irrelevant to their age and this will result in many mental complications by seeing them regularly. In conclusion, I understand this as a negative impact.