Some people feel that the government should regulate the level of violence in films on television and at the cinema.Others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, society has easy access to violent content on TV and the internet which can put an impact on their behaviours and lives. A few people think that the state should regulate the level of violence and crime shown in cinema and television, while others believe that there is no need to scrutinize it. This essay intends to analyze the benefits of both perceptions and would illustrate my opinion in the end. On the one side, proponents of the former view consider that the government should keep a check on what is being broadcasted on screens and shown in theatres. Moreover, authorities can play this role more effectively and keep the public, especially youngsters, safe from felonies and illegal activities depicted in films and shows. For instance, in Pakistan, there is a government-authorized institution named PEMRA which reviews the programmes before putting them on screens for the entire country to watch. Therefore, young people would not get influenced by shows containing murder, theft and fighting and their brains will not be polluted. On the other side, supporters of the latter view opine that the state should not regulate what is being watched on screens as it will not make any difference. Instead, other measures should be taken, such as public awareness campaigns should be conducted by the communities. Similarly, children should be taught about various laws, crimes and their penalties from a very early age so that they know right from wrong. Hence, nations should be educated about how to stay away from such content and how not to let it leave an impact on their lives. To sum up, by banning crime-promoting TV programmes, such as films and dramas, the government can keep societies safe from their harmful effects. While other steps such as teaching population should also be taken into account. In my opinion, both above-mentioned matters should go hand-in-hand in order to set young minds in positive directions instead of diverting them toward evilness and offence.