Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It is hard to deny that advertising from competing companies can impair consumers ' consumption concepts as advertisements always trying to persuade people to purchase expensive but maybe unsuitable products. Such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that advertising is harmful to consumers, and should be censored or even controlled by the government. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies and should be examined meticulously. As far as the economy, employment, and consumption concept are concerned, I firmly hold that advertisements can be beneficial to society and the community, and false or harmful information should be censored by the government. First and foremost, the advertising industry provides employment, as it has become a creative industry that gives profitable jobs to many people. To be more specific, advertising has become a modern art and many universities or colleges have this subject, providing many graduates for companies or celebrities to advertise and increase their influence. In addition, there are many job vacancies as almost all companies need to advertise their products to consumers. Furthermore, the fact that advertising can boost sales of one company or product, improving the economy indicates that it can be beneficial. For example, take the case of YeShu, a well-known milk company famous for its quality and good taste: huge investment in advertising makes people associate its brand image with high quality, good taste, and even making people smart. As a result, more and more consumers know and buy its products. Had it not been for its impressive and attractive advertisement, YeShu would need have become one of the largest companies in the drinking industry. Nevertheless, a voice arises that advertising is always trying to manipulate people to consume more and has influenced many people even children to develop a bad consumption concept. Ironically, though advertising is trying to persuade consumers to buy more, people can not be easily manipulated. For instance, consumers can see comments and reviews from other consumers, and advertisements that boost too much can easily find out. In a nutshell, I maintain that foreign visitors should pay more as such a policy is feasible to implement, and benefits our national culture and economy. Admittedly, as my favourite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues to fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article