Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to human. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is hard to deny that protecting animals is a hugh high finicial burden, as it consumed a great deal of money to develop scientists and build zoos or habitats. Such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that people should only protect animals that are valuable to human. However, such a statement suffers logical and factual fallacies and should be examined meticulously. As far as feasibility, environment, and economy are concerned, I firmly hold that we should NOT only protect useful animals. First and foremost, the throught of protecting useful animals can not be executed in practice, as it is hard to determine what is useful. To be more specific, people with different cultural or economical backgrounds may have different definition of useful; thus, it is hard to get a conclusion of which animals can be useful to human beings. Not to mention that, some people argue human have no moral right to decide which species can survive. Furthermore, the fact that species diversity is important for every animals indicates that we ought to protect all the animals. Take the case of the changes in China in the late 20th - people at that time regard some species like rat are harmful, thus the government encourage people to eliminate this species, reducing the species diversity, and leading to a huge impact on the environment. Had it not been for this camipagn, we would have a better environment. Nevertheless, a voice arises that protecting all the endangered animals will be a fincial burden. Ironically, we can earn more from protecting animals, we can get money from tourists to zoos or habitats, and people can advance medical and scientific research by some species, helping many people to cure their diseases, which saving a lot money. In a nut shell, I maintain that we should NOT only the useful species. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.