Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones because too much money has been spent looking after and repairing them. Although it is true that one can spend a lot of money to restore and look after the old buildings, I strongly disagree that we should just destroy them and build a new one instead. To begin with, we cannot deny that old buildings have a lot of memories that are really precious for their owners. For instance, my house is more than 50 years old and was built when my grandmother was still a kid. It contains the memories from three generations including me, my parents and my grandparents. Every room always reminds me of a certain memory, making me remember my root and who I am. This kind of feeling is so treasured and no amount of money is too expensive for this. Furthermore, old buildings have a cultural value that can be used to showcase their history. For example, there are several old buildings in my country that are being restored and transformed into museums such as Fatahillah, a museum that was built when the Dutch ruled my country. Fatahillah Museum now become the main destination for students to learn about the history, culture and architectural aspects of when Indonesia was still ruled by the Dutch, a hundred years ago. This kind of experience is meaningful and will not happen if old buildings are destroyed. In conclusion, I do believe that old buildings have a special value. Repairing and looking after them is worth the price, hence we should not knock down the old building nor replace them with a modern one.