It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether students should learn the history of their own country or that of other societies in the world has always been a topic of debate. While it is believed that learning national history is of greater importance, I disagree with this perspective. Some people are pro the idea of children learning local history and justifiably so. The key rationale in favour of this view is that being aware of their roots can instil a sense of patriotism in each child. This may foster an appreciation for their national heritage, which means that they are more willing to defend and contribute to their country. By contrast, those who lack knowledge about national history may not respect their own traditions. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. As history education in most schools is sadly lacking. Many young students have grown up with a superficial understanding about their ancestors' past achievements and sacrifices, hence their indifference to current national affairs. This a testament to the necessity of teaching schoolchildren local history