In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some cultures, children are asked to obey behaviour rules strictly, while in other cultures, they could do anything as freely as they want. In my opinion, both of them are not good choices. Children should definitely follow some rules, but they also should break rules sometimes. On the one hand, human beings are animals of society, which is composed of social rules. Children obey rules to better adapt to the social environment, which would help with their future development. There are many rules that should be followed. For example, be honest. Honesty is a very important virtue, which is formed in childhood. Being honest will help children make more sincere friends. And it will help their career when they grow up in the commercial fields or any other ones. On the other hand, not all rules are correct since some of them result from power or social bias. The former, for instance, is not to suspect authority, from our parents to our government. In fact, every single man will make mistakes. Adults are not always right, as well as the state machine. Following incorrect rules without too much reflection could destroy children's critical thinking and creativity, even worse, it could cause some disaster. The latter, for example, is not to dress up at school since in some cultures children will be considered not to concentrate on their studies after doing that. It's not so reasonable because children who are in pursuit of beauty could also do their best in their studies. Moreover, adults take huge responsibilities to help in the process. In conclusion, children should obey some rules to better live in society. However, not all rules are worthy of following, because they may make children lose their ability to think independently, which would hinder the development of both themselves and society. It's the best choice for children to follow the rules when they really think about them carefully.