Nowadays, artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

The transportation industry, especially automobile drivers, is increasingly benefiting from the use of artificial intelligence (AI). Emerging as a convergence of technological advancements to meet the hectic pace of modern life, AI is seen as a positive development that reduces both driver workload and the occurrence of at-fault accidents. In light of the cutting-edge technologies in the auto industry, artificial intelligence is utilized in numerous driving tasks, namely navigation, hindrance detection, distance measurement, auto-parking, and auto-driving. To illustrate this, car developers use big data from image recognition and machine learning systems to build an adaptive AI integrated with automobile programs, allowing cars to drive autonomously and even train themselves to make better driving decisions as they drive more. Tesla, for example, is the world's leading self-driving car company, with every product being tested on many kinds of terrain before its launch and successfully conquering all routes without human intervention. Undoubtedly, the success of Tesla can be considered vivid proof of the powerful advantage of AI to the automobile and transportation industries. Clearly aware of the superiority of autonomous vehicles, people today prefer them to manual cars and believe that artificial intelligence is a positive advancement for many reasons. Firstly, owning an autonomous car is a truly life-changing choice for individuals who work under constant pressure and must multitask as productively as possible. It frees them from repetitive menial tasks behind the wheel and allows them to focus on more important matters such as their jobs or families while commuting or travelling. Secondly, if the streets were occupied mostly by drive-less cars, the traffic would flow smoothly and there would be fewer traffic jams and accidents. And lastly, because of the never-ending mechanization trend to meet the need of getting things done easier, the use of AI in driving is inevitably becoming growingly significant. Indeed, a recent study found that more than 70% of people who own autonomous cars are happy with their choices, and most drivers are optimistic about the future of robotic cars and will consider buying one if they can afford to. To conclude, the advent of AI has created a positive impact on many industries in general and drivers in particular. AI, as a state-of-the-art technological breakthrough, should be welcomed for its effectiveness in improving the occupants' work productivity and minimizing both traffic fatalities and congestion.