Some people think that planning for the future is a waste of time. They believe it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since we were young, we were thought to plan for our future, to know what we want and the steps to get there. However, some people think that thinking too much about the future is a waste of time, as it is more beneficial to enjoy the moment and be in the present. As for me, I think we have to achieve a balance between the two to live a meaningful and fulfilling life. First of all, if we are constantly focusing on what is ahead of us, it will bring great anxiety as the uncertainties in the future are difficult to endure. We might not be able to relax or just live in the moment. For instance, if we only put our minds into our future goals, we might ignore our current affairs or more important moments such as birthdays and wedding anniversaries. Moreover, as no one can predict the future completely thus it seems a bit redundant to put so much energy and effort into it. However, we need to have clear planning and goal in our lives, as otherwise we might be lost in the midst of every day's busy work. Henry Ford, the King of Automobiles once said- those who fail to plan, plan to fail - can not be more true as our lives will be directionless if we do not have a clear plan and we might end up not realising our maximum potential and be depressed about it later on. In conclusion, we need to achieve a balance between living in the moment and planning for the future. In my opinion, sometimes we just need to be positive-minded and trust that life has its own beautiful way of revealing to us what our real purposes in life are.