The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

Having a car has become an essential part of many people's lives. It offers flexibility to their life and work. It also provides ready access to a variety of services and leisure options. However, a range of problems have been identified and need to be addressed. The problems associated with frequent car use are increasingly becoming familiar to the general public. The widespread use of cars has real environmental costs. Vehicles are major sources of urban air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. It is reported that road traffic is the source of one- third of all harmful air pollution in the world. Car exhausts contribute to acid rain, carbon dioxide, and lead, which cause global warming and damage human health. Traffic jam is another problem. As more and more people drive to work rather than walk, cycle or take public transport, there are heavy traffic jams almost every day at rush hours. The most serious problem, however, is safety. Car accidents cause huge numbers of casualties every year. To solve these problems, some people suggest that the government should impose a strict restriction on the use of cars but it is my belief that this measure is not effective in the long run since it would lead to reduced mobility for people and a decline in the car industry. A better solution would be for car manufacturers to design more environmentally friendly cars, which run on solar power or hydrogen. Additionally, traffic problems can be alleviated by either building more underground tunnels and parking garages or encouraging car users to practice carpooling. Finally, safety problems can be avoided by educating drivers as well as pedestrians to use greater caution on the road. In conclusion, while discouraging the use of cars might seem a quick solution to many problems currently facing the society, it is most unlikely to be a permanent cure.