Reporting of crimes and other kinds of violent news on television and in newspapers can have adverse consquences. This kind of information should be restricted from being shown in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether reporting of criminal and other forms of violent activities on mass media has adverse effects and whether this kind of news should be restricted from being shown. From my perspective, I would not completely consider myself a supporter of this idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, accessing this kind of news would only cause anxiety and stress among citizens. As this would only reveal the negative face of society and its dangerous aspect at the same time, delivering this category of information would only pose serious mental issues for readers and viewers. For example, a scientific study in Spain inferred that viewing the news about crimes and violence such as rape, murder, … would cause the viewers to be stressed, anxious and etc. Hence, I believe that viewing things negatively through programs would only make people more suspicious of their own surroundings. While the adverse consequence of reporting criminal and violent activities on TV and in newspaper is widely acknowledged, it is true that these kinds of news can help citizens to have a safer life. Due to seeing this genre of tv shows multiple times, people will be more aware of the detrimental and serious situations in society to keep themselves safe. For instance, in Vietnam, when Trieu Quan Su escaped from prison, his name was all over the first page of myriads of famous and well-known papers and shows such as Tuoi Tre, Dan Tri, VTV1, …, which helped residents to be more easily able to identify him and bring him back behind bars. Therefore, having access to this particular aspect of human society could also arm people with the right things to survive in this cruel world. In conclusion, getting access to this specific type of bad facets of modern civilization can bring about both positive and negative influences on dwellers.