Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is alarming that smartphones occupy an ample amount of time in children's schedules. Reasons for this phenomenon vary, and it has several impacts. My viewpoint would be elaborated below. To begin with, there are various explanations for said matter. First, it is lacking open spaces for outdoor activities that is one of the oblivious reasons. Along with the rising population of urban centers and industrial areas is the disappearance of playgrounds, which hinders the younger generation from enjoying physical activities. Second, since parents these days have paid a lot of attention to work, then they have no time for their children, both taking care and educating. As a result, children are allowed to use smartphones for their entertainment and studying. Besides, it is convenient for parents to keep in touch via a cellphone with their child. Unfortunately, the topic in question poses several threats. At its simplest, it is possible for children to suffer from numerous diseases. To be specific, blue lights and flickering images are the culprit of eye impairments, namely myopia. Worse still, beside the negative effect on physical health, it also causes mental problems, such as autism. In addition, spending a huge amount of time on smartphones would impact children's life. In detail, smartphones and all the entertainment set on it distract students away from learning, which is crucial for them in the latter life, when they have to seek a job. Moreover, they could be trapped via smartphones. It allows them to connect to the internet, where misleading data is spread without verification and control. In fact, there are uncounted cases in the world that the victims are children, who are taken advantage of by criminals, in order to induce them to leave home, then turn them to slaves. In conclusion, it is expected that we can utilize the advantages of smartphones in a good way to provide an optimal growth for our future generation.