Some people say that educational success depends almost entirely on the attitude of the student. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A common opinion is that a student's attitude to studying is the most important factor in their educational success. In my opinion, while the student's attitude is significant, another crucial area is the quality of teaching they receive. Firstly, the attitude of the student has a big impact on their educational success. This is true both in and out of the classroom. A successful student not only pays attention and listens to the teacher during class time, but also spends time researching and reviewing the topics before and after class. They can also show their attitude by being willing to accept feedback from the teacher and improve their own performance. For instance, a 2014 study by the University of Pennsylvania found that university students who both previewed and reviewed the class material every week performed 40% better in the final exam compared to students who didn't preview or review. Although it is true that a student's attitude to learning is very important, it is not the only factor in achieving educational success. Secondly, another key factor in the educational attainment of a student is the quality of teaching they receive. The ability of a teacher to explain difficult concepts can be the difference between a student understanding a topic and passing a test, and a student misunderstanding the same topic and failing. Teachers can also inspire their students to work harder through their strong personalities or by making them feel special. A student who feels like their teacher doesn't care about them is less likely to do extra work than a student whose teacher takes a personal interest in them. For example, in my high school, students who took classes with caring teachers who explained things clearly usually got high scores on their exams. In contrast, many of my friends failed subjects taught by lower- quality teachers. Therefore, it is clear that the quality of teaching is also an important part of educational success. In conclusion, a student's attitude to learning and the quality of teaching he or she receives are both very important parts of their chances of achieving their educational goals.