Some people think that children should only read academic books .others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Children are motivated to read. It is argued that Children should read only academic books while others think along with these books they should also read books for pleasure. I think both the category of books are equally important. Some parents are of the opinion that their children should only read academic books as it will help them to improve their academic outcomes. Reading more academic books will improve their study skills and knowledge and they will perform better which will help them to outshine and excel in life. Furthermore, they think it's a waste of time if their children will read other books and it will not be beneficial to them for their careers. On the other hand, some are of the view that reading academic books and books for pleasure like Sci-fi, and fiction will help students to see things from different perspectives which will be of greater social significance. It will give a broader understanding of oneself and can empathise with other people. In addition to, this it will help them in education as reading more material will improve their vocabulary, spelling and better reading skills - they will able to read faster. I think reading different categories of books play a significant role To conclude, reading only academic books helps to get a good score and improve study skills but along with this if one reads books for pleasure, it will give insight to students and will be able to understand various situations and reasons, which will help them to understand different viewpoints.