The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Generally, manufacturing is necessary to meet the demand of consumers. However, In recent years, there has been a fact that the more convenience goods manufacturing develops, the more seriously the ecosystem is injured. This is because the factories emit so much toxic wastewater into the land and pollutants into the atmosphere during the manufacturing process, and these problems can be solved by adopting certain policies. It is a fact that expanding the production scale of shopping products harms the earth. To illustrate, the manufacturing process discharges chemical waste and toxic smoke. When more goods are produced, more hazardous wastes and pollutants are released from factories into the environment, and thus, the water sources will be contaminated by dangerous chemicals, and similarly, the atmosphere may be spoiled by dust and smoke. For example, the consumer goods manufacturing industry in China has been developing rapidly in recent decades to satisfy the huge requirements of the public and consequently, numerous cities in that country have been covered by thick smoke which comes from those factories in the past few years. Likewise, a lot of red water flows which destroyed countless water lives also came from the drainage of the convenience goods processing industrial zones. Correspondingly, there is an approach to combat this environmental issue. The solution could be tightening emission standards for both polluted water and air-emitted substances in order to reduce the speed of water poisoning and polluting the atmosphere from manufacturing plants. The governments should force manufacturers by strict law to modernize their industrial discharge treatment systems so that all the contaminated water emitted and factories’ emissions are unharmful to groundwater or the surrounding air. For instance, in most developed European countries that severely punish polluters, used water from processing plants must be of a high standard and safe for human drinking. In conclusion, scaling up the production of consumer items is likely to seriously pollute the globe because of its toxic drainage water and emissions, and I believe that drastic policies from the states that strictly punish polluters can be the most effective measure.