Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Adolescence is the age of transition for human beings. Some argue that during this period they should perform unwaged work to benefit their society, while, some others oppose this view. In my prospective, young ones should be allowed to decide whether or not to serve their community without salary during their teenage. There should not be any strict rules for this. It is better to keep youths busy, as it will help them to avoid wasting time on useless activities like playing games on computers or engaging in useless talks. By getting involved in community work, they can build their social network and cognitive skills. For example, helping a specially-abled child might be a daunting task initially, but overtime, it will be a rewarding experience for the youngster and make them more empathetic. Although community work / voluntary work will help their overall development, their commitment to these activities should be voluntary. Otherwise, there will be larger repercussions. To exemplify, if a youth unwillingly went to help a bedridden patient, the help that he could provide to that sick person will be unsatisfactory. In other words, the person engaging in community service should do so wholeheartedly. Otherwise, the help with benefit neither the provider nor the recipient. To wrap up, it is a good idea for teenagers to engage in community work during their leisure time. Even so, it should be optional and teenagers who have no interest in volunteering should not be forced to do so. This will help to generate a compassionate and caring younger generation who benefit the community.