A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

In recent years, many courses in universities need their students to complete some sort of industrial training or attachment to companies prior to graduating. This trend can bring negative and positive impacts to both the students and the universities and in this essay,I will elaborate further. First of all, when a student goes for industrial training, they put forward their knowledge to practical usage. This in turn will help them to understand better the principles and theories that they have learned in textbooks. For instance. a law student can learn first -hand on how to use the law to help defend an innocent man in court. Furthermore, these attachments will also better equip them with the necessary skills to get a job. This in return will give the institution a good name for producing graduates with a high employment rate However, this kind of arrangement usually does not pay the students, some organisations required them to be paid as the extra costs incurred due to the training, such as the equipment, guide books and training sessions, will all need to be bounded by students themselves. These companies are usually selected by the universities in terms of providing good training grounds thus it might be difficult for students to get a place. Furthermore, their courses will be prolonged, and this training period also will not necessarily bring income to the teaching institutions, making them a loss momentarily. In conclusion, attachment prior to graduating can bring benefits and drawbacks to both students and universities. Students can be more prepared to work but they might not gain any financial benefits while the universities will be popular for producing students who get employed quickly, but might suffer a loss temporarily due to this training.