Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that memorising data is a key method which helps to succeed in one's study. Although I admit that such a method is truly helpful, I am also concerned that the importance of understanding the learning material ought to not be dismissed as well, given its efficiency and merits for the future of the student.   Nowadays, rote-learning  various facts, related to the field of one's study is one of the most common ways of learning, and the reason for this may lie in its speed and easiness. Making use of this method students can cram for exams in a short period of time, putting a minimal effort and be assessed and evaluated by good marks, which in most cases, is considered a success. Nevertheless, memorising is only efficient when one should remember information for a short period of time, whereas for longer periods the crucial factor is comprehension. In one particular research participants were divided into two groups. Both groups had to study the same subject, but the first one was using rote-learning techniques, while the second had to have a deep understanding of the provided material. By the end of the, research both groups demonstrated great results. The fine line between them, however, was that people using the former technique forgot learned information sooner than their fellows who utilised the latter one. It follows from above that understanding the actual meaning of things gives  long-term knowledge of them. Moreover, the primary goal of getting an education is to be able to make use of the knowledge that one has gained during his/her study, which is virtually impossible to do without comprehending the principles and the concepts of things. To recapitulate, I agree that in some cases memorising is a working way to achieve success in education, however, I would argue that the process of learning should include comprehension of the meaning and gist of information as well.