Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are polarized regarding the high income of leading sportspeople, with some claiming that it is unfair towards professions which are deemed to be of equal importance, while others argue that they are totally worth it. Convinced that athletes make an enormous effort to achieve success, dealing with severe pressure put on them, I subscribe to the argument of the latter. Admittedly, some sportspeople earn considerably more than those employed in other professions, which seem to make more significant contributions to society. Doctors, for example, who help people deal with various health problems, alleviating and even saving human lives, tend to have far lower salaries than sports professionals, whose job is mainly based on entertainment. However, it should be clarified that not all athletes can earn such an amount of money, but only the most successful and famous ones, who have made a considerable effort to have such a status. And the similar situation occurs among those working in the field of medicine, with some world-renowned surgeons taking millions of dollars for their work. Furthermore, the fact that sportsmen/women are willing to embrace all long hours of training and constantly changing environments when they fly to other countries, whenever it is required, that they are ready to face the pressure from the media, fans and coaches, expecting only high results from them, and that their career is short-lived, in comparison with other jobs, which makes it vital to earn enough to safe for the latter life, cannot be denied. With this in mind, it seems valid to argue in favour of highly paid sports professionals In conclusion, from my point of view, it is reasonable for top sportspeople to be paid as much as they are currently paid, due to all difficulties that they are willing to face during their life paths