In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the cause of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It’s not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. Do you agree or disagree?

These days it can be seen that the index of crime rate has increased exponentially in the last few months. To lower the frequency of such inhuman works, we all should have to go into depth about the main reasons for not being in favour of activities to solve poverty and educational unawareness. It will not only help to easily post many cops on the road and lock a lot of guilty persons into cages. I agree with the given statement which I will explain in upcoming paragraphs. To commence with the viewpoint of the agreement, we can lower the crime rate by targeting starvation. To explain it, there are many families who do not have a home to cover their heads and they also do not have food to eat. In this situation some people decide to rob a bank or the home of a rich community and try to cheat many overseas individuals in terms of money by distracting tourists here and there. For example, a survey conducted by Harvard University in 2017 found that 8 out of 10 robbers are bound to take such actions due to their debt. Hence, if we try to solve the issue of their low income, these people will not be committing such crimes as robbery and looting. Further strengthening the viewpoint, some individuals are not able to make the right decision due to having less knowledge about educational opportunities. To elaborate, a number of folks are not aware of career growth and good life after receiving a good education from some prestigious institutions. Due to a lack of awareness, they opt to run their mind in crimes such as murder, rap, violence and money laundering instead of doing good work in the educational field. For instance, a headline from BBC has revealed that most murderers and rapists do not even complete their matriculation. As a result, these numbers of criminals can be declined, if we enforce and guide people about the power and benefits of education. To conclude, it will be a good approach to reduce the crime rate by helping to decline bankruptcy and to take society on a path of education instead of only putting themselves into lockup and increasing the number of police officers on the way.