Some people think that health care should be free for everyone. Others think that people should pay for their medical costs themselves. Discuss both the views with your own opinion.

Healthcare is one of the basic necessity for human beings and discussions on its affordability has been discussed over a period of time. Whilst some folks believe that it must be free of cost there are others who think otherwise. This essay will discuss the merits of both views and my viewpoint will be shared. Healthcare costs, especially for prolonged illness, are unpredictable and the treatment for such illness will depend on the financial stability of the individual. Worried about the cost, people will stay away from treatment and make their condition worse. As a result, a sick society will be formed, making it a burden for any community or country. This situation can be avoided by providing free care for its natives, thereby building a healthy society that can bring a plethora of monetary benefits which could be used to fund healthcare. For instance, in Canada, medical costs are free and it helps people to be less concerned about healthcare savings and instead stay focussed on their jobs. On the other hand, healthcare costs are increasing drastically because an enormous amount of money is spent in the field of medicine and diagnostic devices. As a consequence, public-funded healthcare costs become viable only if a majority of society is healthy and any change to the situation can culminate in financial troubles. An eminent example of the situation is the COVID-19 pandemic, where countries had to get additional funds to meet healthcare requirements. Hence, considering the unpredictable nature of diseases, the better option will be to keep the funding option with individuals. To conclude, in either scenario, there are merits as well as demerits. I am of the opinion that a blend of public and private funding would be ideal. This will ensure that individuals can save a portion of their savings on healthcare and at the same time, public funding can be added to provide cheaper treatment options.