Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on how ubiquitous advertisements are becoming. From my own perspective, I hold a firm belief that this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measures. On the one hand, consumers in particular and the world's economy, in general, are likely to benefit from marketing activities. Firstly, buyers can gain access to a much wider selection of merchandise and services when receiving information through print or online advertisements. In this way, customers’ shopping experience would be far more pleasant because they can compare prices as well as the quality of the items, thereby buying excellent and affordable products. Secondly, in terms of economic growth, commercials make a substantial contribution to promoting commodity sales, which means manufacturing industries are offered opportunities to prosper. As a result, large profits generated through producing and selling activities might help to boost the global economy. On the other hand, the opposite effects can also be noticed in how various forms of adverts are influencing shoppers and economic development. With regard to individuals, they are swayed by the attractive images and messages about the values and practical uses of unnecessary items, which leads to overbuying. For instance, being exposed to digital pieces of advertisements on Instagram or Youtube on a daily basis, teenagers and young adults are lured into impulsive shopping for goods that they may not even use afterwards, such as clothing, accessories or other daily items. In addition, doing marketing campaigns may lead to an unbalanced development among corporations because it requires a large budget, which is only afforded by big businesses. Indeed, having this advantage over small companies, the giants can keep attracting a tremendous number of purchasers worldwide, while the small and medium-sized enterprises lag far behind and are at risk of bankruptcy. In conclusion, I totally lean towards the opinion that the advantages and drawbacks brought about by the omnipresence of advertising exert equal effects on different aspects of life.