Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the usage of digital currencies is growing because they are easy to use and more reliable than physical money. Although they have a few disadvantages, I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. One of the main reasons online currencies become more popular is that they are more user-friendly to individuals. With the development of technology, smartphones are becoming more accessible in people’s daily lives, this contributes to the foundation of wide usage of currencies. Individuals can easily make scan of the payment QR code and pay the bill with just a few clicks. Not to mention the inconvenience of counting coins and paper money, digital currencies never have a problem with that. Another important reason is the reliability of online currencies, while paper currencies may be damaged by physical activities, online currencies will not be affected by these. Although some individuals worry about their online accounts may not be safe because they will probably be hacked by some criminals, I believe measures would be taken to prevent this from happening. For example, large companies like Tencent and Alipay in China, have put huge resources into protecting the security of network banks, and thousands of computer elites who are hired with very high salaries to deal with the potential damages from outside criminals. Besides, the government forces the companies to put compulsory insurance on online currencies, so even if the individuals’ money were stolen online, they will be paid back without any loss. In conclusion, with the development of rules and security systems, online currencies will play a more dominant role in the near future.