Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many small and local businesses are under threat by the booming development of supermarkets in some countries. Some may worry that local communities are going to extinct soon if the local business is out of the market. Although the local business does contribute to the local communities, I disagree with the idea that it is the end for them. It is sure that nowadays supermarkets expand rapidly in some areas, and there are a few advantages for them to replace local businesses. One of the main reasons is that products price tend to be cheaper in supermarkets than those in local companies because mass production can reduce the cost of goods significantly. Furthermore, big companies are more powerful in terms of negotiating with manufacturers, so they get lower prices than small ones. In addition, customers are more likely to go to supermarkets because of huge parking areas and a large number of goods to select from. Although supermarkets are powerful in many cases, local businesses still can find a way to survive and the future of local communities may not be determined by them. First of all, there are some advantages for local businesses that cannot be replaced, for example, the interaction between customers and business owners, they may grow into a relationship of friends through interacting with each other over a long time, these emotional values can not be replaced by a number of goods in stock. Moreover, the spirit of local communities is not just about commercial activities, the value of supporting each other when someone is in need is also vital to the spirit. Otherwise, it would be just another market. In conclusion, local businesses will not be overruled by supermarkets in many cases and even if local companies did go out in the end, the spirit of local communities will still thrive.