Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Nowadays, we often hear about health problems caused by an unhealthy diet. One of these is represented by obesity, which has reached an epic proportion around the world. To solve this problem, government should play a significant role by applying an higher tax rate on certain types of food and increasing people awareness about the obesity ’s effects. On the one hand, the government should address the overweight problem by imposing high taxes on those foods which determine the issue such us junk food and fast food. In fact, the countries where obesity has reached an high rate among population are those where there are various chain restaurants which offer food with too much fat, salt and sugar. One of the main example is represented by USA where there are plenty of McDonalds and Burger Kings. Therefore, if fatty food become costly, it might discourage people from eating it on a regular basis and, thus, the obesity could be mitigated. On the other hand, people should be informed about problems arising from an unhealthy diet. It could be done by performing a massive publicity campaign against those foods which are armful for the human body through televisions, school, media and so on. Indeed, many people don’t know the risk that run by eating unhealthy fats and foods with a lot of calories. For instance, in Japan a similar initiative reduced the percentage of people who were struggling with obesity. Hence, if citizens are made enlightened about the several obesity diseases, such as diabetes and heart problems, they will probably limit the unhealthy eating In conclusion, the obesity problem can be solved by the government actions both directly, by determining a food price increase through an higher tax rate, and indirectly via sensibilization campaigns aimed to inform people about the negative consequences of being over-weight.