Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Digital currencies are more popular in recent decades because they are easy to use and more reliable than physical money. In my opinion,the profits outweigh the drawbacks due to their usefulness. Using digital wallets is simple and widely accepted in many countries. People can pay instantly while they are shopping online or at the supermarket. In addition, an increasing number of online payment platforms enable people to choose various options and they can obtain some benefits like cash-back bonuses. Although some platforms may be difficult for older people, most applications are user-friendly and easy to manage. In the UK, for example, many older people are using online currencies with the help of their grandchildren. Consequently, a large number of digital currency companies target not only young people but also senior citizens. It is true to say that digital wallets are more reliable than physical banknotes. People are not required to worry about crimes like theft or robberies. In addition, when people are travelling across the world, they do not need to exchange physical money in the host country because most countries are accepted digital money instead of physical notes. In Thailand, for instance, the government encourage tourists to use cashless payment rather than cash because they can trace every transition to protect against possible money laundering. As a result, authorities can manage their financial and economical issues effectively. To conclude, digital money is more common these years because they are simple and reliable. They may have some drawbacks, however, we can clearly see their advantages outweigh the disadvantages.