In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays life expediency is going longer compared to ago in many territories. Certain individuals claim more old people in a society make problems for the governor. However, others believe there are merits as populations get older. I think the disadvantages of having an ageing population outweigh the advantages and I compare the merits and demerits in the following essay. On the positive side, certain individuals assert that knowledge and experience of our society will be increased by ageing populations; Consequently, we have elder people who can assist adolescents in going up the career ladder. Additionally, younger people can use the experience of older persons. For example, I work in a company that has a massive number of old workers compared to another business competitor. Subsequently, our company growing faster as it has experience of older workers. On the negative side, when a society gets old, it puts a lot of financial pressure on the government. As elderly need healthcare and payment pension. Followed by strains on social welfare systems. Additionally, old society decreased workforce and productivity. Consequently, a huge money will be spent by the government on older. For instance, the population of Japan getting old in decade 90 subsequently this country has no economic growth yet because of it. So, because of the worse economic conditions that will come with an ageing society, I believe that these demerits outweigh the merits. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages if people going to live longer than before. However, I believe that the merits outweigh the demerits.