People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

It is argued that high school students learning novels, poems and other literature subjects is time-wasting. While some people are of the opinion supporting the above statement, I partly disagree with the assessment. First of all, it is understandable why literature is meaningless to spend time on for some folks. When students put effort into studying literature, it means that there would be less time spent on other academic subjects such as maths, physics, biologies, etc which could be considered more practical and helpful in life. In the addition, future orientation for kids would commonly head towards business or scientific occupations. These jobs seem to be relevant to other subjects rather than literature and therefore there is a lack of linkage between future goals and literature topics. Moreover, it is not able to easily comprehend implements under literature arts for students, which leads to a shortage of interest among them. Nevertheless, it turns out that studying literature at high schools positively creates valuable experiences and skills for students. It could be witnessed that literature art pieces allow students to be exposed to diverse cultures, perspectives, philosophies and experiences. For example, ones reading Truyen Kieu by the author Nguyen Du can immerse themselves in the story of the traditional period in Vietnam and understand the history back then and the perspectives of each personage underline the art. Besides, literature studying can help students with their critical thinking skills or language skills as written words are a form of illustrating ideas. In conclusion, even though there are a number of arguments in favour of the opinion that learning literature is a waste of time for students and reasons of thinking so, I personally find it is worth for teenagers to study such subjects in order to broaden viewpoints and to enhance various vital skills.