Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a popular belief that it is good to share as much information or data as possible when it comes to scientific research, business and the academic world. On the contrary, many believe that information is far too important or too valuable to be allowed access to freely. However, according to me, information is a valuable asset and no human being should have the right to access the information of others. Since we are living in an age where marketing is on the rise and organisations pay vast amounts of money to have their products marketed. This leads to the use of techniques such as targeted adverts which actually requires business owners to collect information to market their products more effectively. For instance, airlines need access to information such as the location of the people to market tickets for flights in that area. However, many believe that information should not be shared as it is far too important. In recent times, the number of reported cases of identity theft has actually increased and this may be due to the reason that many businesses are not that careful and do not have enough security measures in place. For example, many websites have reported cases of data breaches which essentially meant that information such as location, addresses even credit card numbers was leaked. As a consequence, millions of users had to suffer due to the mismanagement of these companies. Whereas, as a personal preference, in recent times it is becoming a necessity for more and more organisations to collect information to keep providing their services for free and also appeal to marketing agencies. Due to this sharing of information has become important but some security measures should be in place. Moreover, people should be aware that what kind of information is being accessed by those companies. To conclude, many people strongly believe that information should not be shared as it is far too important meanwhile, others think that information should be provided for business, academic purposes or some scientific method. However, people should be informed about what things are being shared and should be free to withdraw their consent.