Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent decades with the high development of technology and science, people tend to equip more useful and intelligent devices to serve their lives. Among these, smartphones are the greatest and the most popular device that is used most frequently and consume their users more time, especially children. There are many reasons leading to this phenomenon and I personally believe this trend is disadvantageous. In terms of reasons why using smartphones accounts for a great amount of teenagers' time. First and foremost, this smart device helps them unwind after stressful hours at school. The fact is that the vast majority of games are installed on phones free of charge that they can play online with their friends. Also, loads of music apps are available so they can listen to a lot of their favourite songs when they are stressed or tired. Secondly, pupils can use some learning programs to exchange their knowledge with their classmates and teachers. Last but not least, most parents these days are busy making a living so they allow their children to use smartphones so as to not bother them while they’re working. Intellectual phones also have massive disadvantages for children when they misuse these tools. On top of that, they seem addicted to their clever devices. They tend to spend their spare time passively instead of using them for helpful work such as playing sports or taking a rest. Besides that, babies under six using these devices are highly likely to suffer some physical and mental disorders or diseases. Furthermore, those who spend much on their phones tend not to have good relationships with their parents and friends. In short, the modern trend is that children have more opportunities to expose to and use these devices more frequently due to many subjective and objective reasons. Although it might negatively affect children ’s development, utilizing these tools wisely does help them a lot in their study and relaxation.