Some people say that history has little or nothing to offer, while others say that the study of the past helps the present. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

These days, the importance of history has become a debatable issue among individuals. While some argue that past has little or nothing to provide to society, others consider that the study of the past is important to improve the present. In this essay, I will discuss both these views as well as why I believe learning history is important to build socially responsible citizens. To begin with, there are several reasons why some assert that learning history is worthless. First of all, supporters of this view tend to believe that investigating the past is pointless as something already happened and nothing can change it. Because of it, they thought that history only offers a few facts to learn or sometimes nothing to learn new. For example, some critics claim that the culture, and traditions of old age have changed significantly. So, In this new era of technological advancements, analysing the old times is a waste of time as the new generation cannot relate to the way of life which people of older times had. On the other hand, those who argue for learning history is vital, have a different view and claim that studying past helps to improve the present world by being aware of many social issues which occurred in the past. Precisely, analysing historical events is a process of realization of mistakes and misunderstandings that happened in the past and how to rectify those in future. To exemplify, historians investigate the reasons and aftermath of world wars, in order to prevent such worse war events happen again in the future. To summarize, while there are strong arguments on both sides, I am inclined to believe that history is an important discipline to learn, as it gives an opportunity to understand the past in a more systematic way, as well as address many social issues more effectively than past. I strongly hold the view that the more people understand the past, the more beneficial to form a socially responsible society.