In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that due to some factors, there has been an increase in the life expectancy of people worldwide. However, it is controversial that if individuals live longer than before, it leads to problems for the government Others believe that it has a positive impact on society if they live longer. On the one hand, the supporters of the point of view that ageing pollution creates problems suggest that increasing the lifespan of people leads to overpopulation, this means the number of people, cars and apartments will increase in the years to come. moreover, this phenomenon causes more jobs. The government have to provide the job opportunity for the vast majority of unemployed citizens. Today unemployment is defined as a major issue, particularly in developing countries like China and India. If more people live on Earth not only would there be environmental damage, but also would be harmful to animal habitats. On the other hand, other individuals think that a high population have a positive impact on society. The proponents of this point of view believe that if people live longer, they can do much more work and help the country to develop. However, elderly people can not do the physical demands or challenging demand jobs. For example, the elderly can not work as a worker in factories due to their physical condition. In addition, they believe they might be able to use the elderly’s experience and if they encounter obstacles in their life the elderly help them to overcome challenges. In conclusion, the increasing of life expectancy would cause overpopulation, and traffic congestion and expose the environment and animals to dangers. However, young people can use the elderly’s experience but the disadvantages of the ageing population far outweigh all the advantages.