Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary world, an increasing number of professionals have migrated to foreign countries to search for better jobs. Many of them come from countries with different languages, hence they frequently face language barriers which affect them socially and practically. I agree with this statement and will further elaborate on them in this essay. Firstly, communication is one of the most important activities in our daily life. Language barriers not only lead to poor conversations, but is also resulted in a misunderstanding between colleagues at the workplace. For instance, a foreigner with a language barrier who newly joined a company will face discrimination as local people tend to ignore them. Furthermore, people who speak different languages also face many challenges while living in their community. For example, communication between neighbours is so critical for maintaining harmony among them. On the other hand, one of the most critical issues is about challenges of education among their family members. In other words, those children that migrate along with their parents may have difficulty in their academics due to courses being taught in a different language compared with their hometown. In addition, many children that moved to a foreign country are being discriminated from other groups of local students. According to research, those students that newly joined a college in a foreign country have a high risk for mental distress and depression due to isolation and social discrimination from other students. In conclusion, migration among professionals is getting more common and provides benefits to their future. However, different languages lead to poor communication and may result in multiple negative impacts not only socially but also practically in their daily life.