In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate whether eating a wider variety of food that can be grown in a local area has more advantages or disadvantages. In my opinion, this phenomenon does more good than bad to people. To start with, by eating different kinds of food, people get more valuable nutrients that their organisms may need. A good diet is a balanced diet, that contains different sorts of vitamins and minerals, that sometimes can only be found in exotic fruits or vegetables that do not grow locally. By eating food that comes from different regions, humans include more beneficial nutrients in their daily lives. Secondly, the export and import of food helps the area’s economy. By exchanging goods with the nearby communities, people can earn more money that is not from the inner circle of their economy, which is a big benefit to the area’s finances. So, by consuming a wider variety of food, and by buying things from other regions, people not only help their health, but their economy as well. However, others may say, that consuming too much foreign food disadvantages local farmers. Although it may be partially true, it is not always the case. By that I mean, even though farmers from the local area may not always sell all the crops to the people from their region, they always can sell them to the regions where those kinds of crops do not grow. Another, bigger problem that comes with eating food that is not grown locally, is that it might be poisonous to people that are not used to it. For example, if the community only drinks cow’s milk, but desires a higher variety of dairy food, they might buy camel’s milk from other countries. Which might not be very good, as it has way higher acidity than local cow’s milk and in some cases may even be poisonous to the people who are not used to it. To conclude, I believe, that eating more diverse food that is not always grown in the local area has more crucial advantages than disadvantages. Thus in some cases it has some minuses, the benefits are much more advantageous, as it not only helps people ’s health but the economy too.