Many people they spend large part of their free time using smartphones What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, individuals use their leisure time operating smartphones. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon. This essay will evaluate the reasons and assess whether this situation is beneficial or harmful. The main causes of people spending their free time with smartphones are addiction and loneliness. Firstly, there is highly addictive content on smartphones, particularly in games and apps such as YouTube and Instagram, that the majority of people spend hours of their free time on without concerning themselves with the need to notice the clock or the duration of time they have spent on this digital device. Secondly, in the modern world, most human beings are indulged in their hectic schedules, which means they do not have time to spend with their friends or family. When they get some spare time, only smartphones are left to occupy this time. In terms of its impact, this change, like any, has both positive and negative effects. On the positive side, it has made it easier for people to lead a life without stress. For instance, it is common for people to watch their favourite drama series or play a game such as PUBG and get a dopamine hit. In addition, games on digital devices can also aid in developing their critical thinking. However, on the negative side, utilising leisure time only in the company of a digital phone might lead to a lack of social interaction among people, meaning there will be fewer physical games or face-to-face interactions. Eventually, it will impact both the physical and mental health of the population in a detrimental manner. In conclusion, the main reasons individuals spend their spare time using smartphones are the addictive content of these devices and loneliness. This situation results in the benefit of leading a stress-free life, but its disadvantage is reduced physical exercise. Overall, the disadvantage is more pronounced, as it impacts a person’s physical and mental health.