In many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the reasons? What are the effects of this on society?

In recent years, it has been observed that many students are avoiding to choose science related subjects. There are a number of reasons for this trend, such as the difficulty of mastering the subject and old-fashioned methods of teaching science. A variety of problems may arise as a result of this situation. The core reason why most students do not prefer to study the science, is the hardness to learn them. Science subjects, such as physics, chemistry or biology, require a high level of understanding in mathematics. If a student is not capable of solving complex math problems, they will find other science -related subjects extremely difficult. Apart from math, strong analytical and critical skills are also essential. These subjects also rely on abstract concepts, which makes the learning process even harder for a student. This led them to quit the field in the beginning. Another significant factor which can be attributed to the lack of science students is the classical ways of teaching the science major. Teachers usually use theory and rules, which naturally make learning difficult and boring as a whole. This is because most schools lack the innovative and experimental technologies to teach a certain concept. Take my country as a pertinent example - Uzbekistan. Not only in the remote schools, but also most of the schools in the urban cities are not provided with special equipment for science. When it comes to the consequences of the situation. Various far-reaching implications can be found. This includes the shortage of professional teachers in the field. This results to lack of interest in science among youngsters. For example, in my city, very few science teachers can be found, so fewer students are learning science. In addition to this issue, another upcoming problem is the delay of technological developments in the country. To explain that, most of the innovations are the result of scientific research, which would contribute to incredible advancements in the area. If fewer people study in these realms, the likelihood of innovations will also decline. In conclusion, the reasons behind the shortage of students in science related- subjects are the complexity to learn them. Less innovative teaching methods are the second factor. Lack of professional teachers in the field and delayed innovations are the implications of the situation.