Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Globally, there is a fast growing trend of people seeking for alternate treatments and medications rather than visiting their regular doctors. I believe this is a negative development. This essay will be discussing the cons and pros and thereby expanciating my opinion. On one hand, people seek other source of treatments and medicines because of the cost and time consumed in seeing their physician. For instance, a patient walked into a hospital, he or she will be go through alot of process like payment at the cashier,getting their cards or folders,checking of vital signs and queuing, just to see the medical personnel, this is after spending money on transportation where there could be traffic jam sometimes, which is very common among the public hospitals, although the private has less process but it comes with an extra charge. This can be discouraging for one to pay visit at the health facility. On the other hand, different source of treatment and medicine can cause more problem than the initial one. For example, a client have severe pain at the right iliac fossa which is an indication for appendicitis, due to illiteracy or lack of finance, one may opt for different treatment which may involve buying of pain killers to subside the pain, it maybe effective but on the long run, it can cause rupture of the appendix due to the delay in getting the appropriate intervention and it's a serious surgical emergency case in the hospital, this could have been avoided if he visited the healthcare facility from the onset. In conclusion, the negative effects of alternative treatment is outrageous and in worst cases, it can cause death. Therefore, I think the health sectors with the support of the government should help educate the masses about the dangers and important of visiting their physician regularly.