Nowadays, some people like to give help to the local community or provide people with direct help. Other pople prefer to give money to national and international organisations. Discuss both methods and give your own opinion on which is better.

Whilst I think that giving help in any form is worthwhile, I believe that helping at the individual or community level is better for two main reasons. In this essay, I would like to look at these two reasons in more detail. The first reason that I believe in giving help at the individual or community level rather than giving money through national and international organisations is that I think it is more financially efficient. When money is given to national and international organisa-tions organizations, some of the donation is inevitably lost in covering the cost of administration. Of course, this happens at the community level as well, but at least the money is normally used for administrative costs in the location where the money is needed rather than at offices far from the area. In many countries, there is also a large risk of losing money through corruption as some officials seek to line their own pockets at the expense of the rest of the population. The second reason that I believe in helping communities or individuals more directly is that it gives the person donating the money a more direct involvement with the people receiving it. This encourages the person donating money to see that it is used well. If the person is donating their time rather than their money, the person can see the project develop and put into action. A good example of this is in Vietnam, where wealthy individuals sometimes build schools in the rural areas where they grew up. Giving money to national and international organisations also has advantages. One is that such organisations are better able to publicise campaigns for money and the projects that they are working on. Another is that they are sometimes better at directing money to the very poorest areas, which might not be able to get their needs heard by the outside world. To conclude, giving time and money in any fashion is worthwhile, but I think that it is better if people are able to give money directly to individuals or communities rather than using national and international organisations.