Nowadays people prefer cars to bicycles as a means of transportation. What are the effects of this trend? What measures can be taken to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, there are many those who prefer to use cars over bicycles. Although it is a convenient way of transportation, it carries negative implications for the environment. There are some steps that should be taken to overcome this problem, and those as well as consequences this decision causes will be discussed in this essay in the next paragraphs. To start with repercussions, it is well-known that using automobiles and especially outdated models of those increases the emission of CO2, which leads to the greenhouse effect and global warming in general. However, there are some individuals who oppose this by claiming that there are fabrics and manufacturers which are even more harmful, but it is still worth admitting that the impact is huge, in particular when we start to think of how many people are using them. Furthermore, it is crucial to underline that it also creates traffic on the roads which causes issues like car crashes and even deaths. Frustrating though these effects may be, they can be overcome by creating a plan of measures which should be taken. First of all, by developing infrastructure for bicyclists, consequently, they will be able to travel safely and with comfort. We have a nice example of some European countries, such as the Netherlands, where those who use bicycles are a lot more than those who prefer cars. However the second way is more beneficial, the government should increase taxes for car owners, in that case, more people will switch to alternative ways of transportation. By doing that, not only will individuals choose more environmentally friendly options, but they also will save their money, so it will be additional motivation to them respectively.  In conclusion, I would like to point out that increasing knowledge and awareness of the impact we make by simply choosing to use our car over bicycles, should encourage us to take measures and make more conscious choices. Even though the government have to enhance conditions for bicyclist, people still are responsible for their decisions.