Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

They say “Youths of today are leaders of tomorrow”. To become a successful leader of a country in the future, one must possess not only the ability to lead a country but also to have sympathy for everyone around him or her, especially apply the elderly. I strongly agree with this idea and will explain why in this essay. In order to achieve such kind of experiences, youngsters should have participated in some voluntary work held by their schools or the local town council. Firstly, the role of parents is crucial in this case because they are the role models of their children. Hence, they need to take part as volunteers in any activity organised by the local community centre. Then they can persuade their children to get involved in upcoming events. There are plenty of activities for our young generation to work as a volunteer in our neighbourhoods. For instance, helping local charity concerts by checking the tickets at the entrance of the gate or by preparing some refreshments for the crowd. However, they shouldn't get paid in return for doing those kinds of work because all these are not for money but for showing love to the community. In conclusion, this type of voluntary work should take place during school holidays in order to be able to organise the participants more effectively. Finally, by doing this, it could elevate the existing strength of bonding among the neighbours and community.