People's shopping habit depends more on the age group they belong to than other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals opine that it is usual for people to do shopping depending on their age. I partially agree with this idea. In this essay, I plan to explore my point of view using a few examples. First of all, obviously, every person's preferences change with age. Speaking about buying clothes, it happens rather seldom when a person doesn't change physically. For example, women usually gain extra weight as they become older, and, consequently, they cannot buy the same size dresses. Hence, here we have a clear dependence on the person's age. Furthermore, it is a well-known fact that fashion dictates its own rules and it varies from generation to generation. As a result, we have another argument in favour of this statement. For instance, if our grandmothers dressed in punk style, their granddaughters now wear something completely different and do not understand the fashion of their grandmothers’ times. No doubt, choices of other things such as furniture, or devices also depend on an individual's age. The older we get, the more comfortable furniture and equipment we choose. Apart from all the above-mentioned facts, there are a few notions I would like to point out. Needless to say, advertisements of various products and services in a number of situations can impact our shopping. To illustrate, when someone wants to buy a coffee, he will most likely buy a well-advertised brand such as Nescafe. This concept shows that not only a person's age but also the daily advertisements we hear while watching TV influence the foods we choose. In conclusion, although to some extent I agree with the concept that products, services, clothes and other things choice is mostly depend on a person's age, yet, the marketing moves such as advertising also influence our shopping.