Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Nowadays there is controversy in society on animal testing as some people believe that this type of experiment should be banned entirely while others argue that this experiment should be allowed because it can lead to important scientific discoveries. This essay will examine why the experimentation on animals should be justified only in some cases. Also, the example of alternative methods will be given. To begin with, not all animal testing should be justified because animals are now used for many commercial products which are not related to new scientific discoveries. For example, many beauty brands are now testing new products using animals such as rabbits and mice, and some of the products have tiny changes in components. In contrast, some experimentation on animals such as new medical drugs and vaccines should be acceptable, especially when there is a new epidemic event like Covid-19. However, the scope and limit of each animal's testing should be governed by the government or related organisations to prevent useless or unnecessary tests. Regarding the alternative way to reduce or replace animal experiments, there are several ways that researchers can follow. Firstly, using advanced programming AI simulates the test and forecasts the expected results, which scientists can utilise the expected results which scientists can utilise in their labs to predict a primary result in the test. Furthermore, some scientists can make duplicates of the human body's cells or tissues as subjects to be tested. Lastly, a human volunteer is another option to consider in some experiments. Thus, scientists should try to implement alternative testing first before the test on animals, while all animal testing for beauty products should be replaced with those alternatives. To conclude, with all reasons taken into account, testing on animals is not always a bad action as it helps humans to develop new medical treatments or discover new scientific stuff. However, the purpose of testing should be reasonable such as finding a new cure, not just for commercial purposes. Moreover, researchers should consider using alternative methods to avoid and reduce the use of animals.