Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Some people argue that adverts have a significant impact on reducing the differentiation of people’s life choices. Personally, I am an opponent of this opinion. Admittedly, we see people easy to be hooked on and following the extravagant style of life advertised on air, featuring excessive spending, brand clothing, and luxury cars. In fact, over the last several decades advertising agencies have invested a lot to consolidate the public’s belief that what they were spreading was the desired life that celebrities owned and every successful man deserved. At the same time, commercials of some companies such as Victoria’s Secret enjoyed selling people the polar attitude to the beauty that only a woman with a slender body shape could gain popularity, wealth, and fame. However, I believe nowadays, adverts have started to adopt and promote the idea of variety. Their aim has switched to accommodate the increasingly diverse needs of consumers. Take the example of Apple, whose selling point always centers on the creativity and endless variations their ecosystem can bring users rather than the high pricing of their smart devices. In addition, startups from all around the world now can market their novelty items on crowdfunding platforms. This new form of marketing campaign substantially increases the availability of products for consumers, plus granting them the flexibility to preorder the goods they like as a form of support. In short, I would like to subscribe to the view that an era of ads bombarding the audience with the idea of a single choice of life has come to an end, and that today, marketing strategies welcome diverse personal presences.