It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that taking risks is considered an essential element for success. I am all for this argument and believe people should not circumvent challenges if they want to better themselves. Admittedly, people are afraid of risks in part because of the negative impacts of failure on them. It is normal to see that failing to tackle difficulties can impair people's confidence and hinder them from taking on a second challenge. For example, taking the university entrance examination is probably one of the biggest risks a Chinese student can meet throughout their lives, as it can to some extent determine your career prospect and future life. As such, an unsatisfactory result can shatter one’s self-esteem and hopes for an extended period of time after the exam is over. However, the fear of failure cannot offset the benefits of embracing risks. Above all, it is the difficulties associated with risks that constitute your success. To illustrate this, in a job where people are constantly encountering different tasks with which they are not familiar beforehand, coping with the work assigned to you with a spirit of persistence and courage is the most effective way to enhance your competence and showcase your progress in front of your supervisors. How can you make your managers notice you and gain a promotion if you get no chance to address complex problems? Besides this, people can be more aware of their strengths when taking risks. Sometimes, the edge we believe we have does not necessarily be our real advantage, and only by taking on challenges, we can realize what we are truly good at. In conclusion, it is understandable that people tend to avoid risks due to fear, however, for me, risks, alongside failures, are the things that guide you to achievements.